Thread: Mercury Sport Jets

Default Mercury Sport Jets

Hello from the Texas Gulf Coast.

I am exploring the usage of Mercury Sport Jets as an option for extreme shallow water access.

What are the trade offs of tunnel hulls vs delta pad boats?

Shallow Running?
    Hole Shot?
    Handling?
    Does the tunnel hull decrease top speed?
    Running grassy areas?

I have read the Sport Jets are noisy, why is this? Options?
    What may you gain w/ the 250 over the 200?

I have no experience with the Sport Jet.

Thanks in advance.

Eric

Default Check the thread "Sportjet boat selection assist needed!‏ "

There's some discussion about this very question a few threads back called "Sportjet boat selection assist needed!‏" for starters, good luck! SJ's are a great option for shallow performance due to their power to weight ratio.

http://amazingracewiki.cbs.com

Quote Originally Posted by scb factory View Post
    Hello from the Texas Gulf Coast.

I am exploring the usage of Mercury Sport Jets as an option for extreme shallow water access.

What are the trade offs of tunnel hulls vs delta pad boats?

Shallow Running? Delta may ride "higher" in the water, tunnel needs less water "under" the boat... I think its about a wash between the two
    Hole Shot? Delta may "lift" a load more readily, more heavy, or quicker, from a standstill
    Handling? Deltas handle great, so do tunnels
    Does the tunnel hull decrease top speed?probably not as much as other more impactful variables
    Running grassy areas? a tunnel may have an advantage to stay clean more readily than a delta in this application

I have read the Sport Jets are noisy, why is this? Options? Good mufflers, good engine compartment soundproofing, I think my SJ's are quieter than my V-8 boats