Thread: Brown/Grizzly help fall 08

Default Brown/Grizzly help fall 08

I am a non resident but have hunted Alaska for the past 3 seasons. The hunt I thought would never happen now looks like it might. My brother has moved to Alaska and is now a resident. I will be going up to Alaska to hunt with him in the fall of 08. I will be hunting brown/grizzly and was hoping to get some help from someone. I do not have alot of money to spend on air charters, or a guide. I will try to keep a budget at around $1500-2000. I do not have to have a 10' bear, I would be more than happy with a 8' + bear. Does anyone have any good recommendations on a good unit to start looking into. I have heard 16b but have also heard this is very thick and that there are better units to hunt. Like I said I have been to Alaska hunting the past 3 seasons and know the trouble one can get into. I feel I have good equipment and respect for the wilderness in Alaska. Any help or info. would be much appreciated.

There is good access to bears by foot in many areas of Unit 13. I know of several black and grizzly bears that have been taken from areas east of Hurricane and Little Coal Creek. Many of the trails that head east in Denali State Park; Little Coal Creek, Ermine Lake Trail, and Upper Troublesome Creek have good opportunities for bear hunting. There are also many areas that you can hunt off the Denali Highway with good foot access.

Somewhere between lucky and extremely lucky

Default How Late?

How late in the fall are you planning on? Depending on when, floating a salmon stream can be a VERY effective way of seeing a lot of bears. Also, you could plan a float that involves highway to highway drop-off and pick-up, which would keep you within budget. As mentioned units 16 and 13 are fairly easy to access-although the logistics would probably require a plane drop-off, but a highway take-out may be possible.