Thread: High Altitude Adjustments?

Default High Altitude Adjustments?

I have a Yamaha MM600 that I have typically ride between 500-2000ft around Fairbanks. This weekend, I will be at 3-4000ft. My question is, what kind of performance changes can I expect if I don't make any adjustments? Does 3000ft really make much of a difference as far as performance, plug fouling, etc goes? The operators manual says the drive chain gears and clutch should be adjusted above 3000ft along with all the carburetor adjustments. I am not an expert in sled maintenance and the thing runs great now so I don't want to screw it up. Also, I don't want to pay to have someone do it just to adjust it back after the weekend. Thanks for any replies.

Default altitude

i would premix my gas

I usually change my jets and primary spring. You can do that if you want top performance.

If you don't do anything the engine will run richer which could create a bog and loss of throttle response. Your clutching wont allow the engine to rev as high (maybe 2-300 rpm less).

Kinda depends on what you are doing. Going to be climbing to 5-6000, then you're going to loose even more. If you're just going to run the trails then I probably wouldn't worry about it.

But some machines respond differently. You might not notice much of a difference depending on how you ride.

You also need to look at what the temperatures are going to do.

I wouldn't pay someone to do it then have to pay them to undo it. Bare minimum would be jetting. On most machines it is pretty simple, I've never changed jets on a MM before.

If you don't feel comfortable doing anything then don't. Your machine will still run, just not as well as the lower altitudes. Maybe bring a couple spare spark plugs.

I'm not sure why bboy said to premix, never heard of doing that for this situation.