Thread: Rookie

Default Rookie

I am taking my 70 year old father to Alaska this summer for a father/son fishing trip. We have never been there and hail from Michigan. I am just beginning to search the net for locations, etc.. I want it to be a low maintenance trip where we stay at a lodge/cabin that would provide us with all of the fishing gear, etc... We would just show up and be ready to fish. My father is not very mobile so I want it to be boat fishing where he will not have to walk much. Can someone recomend a location/lodge/charter compnay that is easy to get to upon arrival into the Ankhorage airport? We are on a budget but do not want to go cheap. We are looking for a good quality lodge with great hospitality and a great fishing experience. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.

Talkeetna, AK

I would suggest one of the lodges near either the Lake Creek area or on the Kenai, for easiest access from Anchorage. For Lake Creek the McDougall Lodge is a great place to start your search and there are hundreds of places to stay along the Kenai River and Peninsula, Gwyn's Lodge is a good family-run style lodge and grill.

There are several other folks on this forum that have much more experience down south.

Hope this gets you started! - Alaskan Wilderness Fishing & Rafting

Bandon, OR

I won't recommend anything in SE since you said you're flying into ANC, but I'm curious about what made you choose there? If you did want a few suggestions for SE (AK Air has direct service into Juneau and Ketchikan, and 1 or 2 stop service to Sitka, Yakutat, Wrangell, etc.) drop me a PM or post back and I'll be happy to drop some good names in SE.

M/V CanCan - 34' SeaWolf - Bandon, OR

Big Lake Alaska

Question Time of Year Dictates

SE has some great fishing opportunities. I am certain that CanCan will set you up with the best and you will avoid Anchorage and be in the "real" Alaska.