Thread: Help on a float Hunt

Default Help on a float Hunt

Hey guys. Fairly new to the forum. Have been doing a lot of reading on here and have found a lot of wisdom. I'm 22 years old and have lived in the Fairbanks area all my life. I have done most of my hunting via ATV use or on foot, I've done the five mile haul road thing and some other walk in sheep hunts.
    I have an uncle who wants to fulfill a life long dream of float hunting for caribou in Alaska. Problem is I have limited experience with float hunting, other than having rafted the upper Chena a couple times. I've picked up a couple books on the subject, Larry's book being one.
    I've been batting around the idea of doing a fly in drop off on the upper Ivashak and then floating back down to the Dalton for a take out.
    - I need info on a transporter to fly us in, I know Coyote Air is one, is there any others up there?
    - How long (estimated days) would it take to float? I know this depend on how far up we're dropped off. Will 6-7 days be long enough?
    - What kind of raft should we use?
    I'm not totally set of doing the Ivishak, but I've seen pictures of the area and it's so beautiful. I don't want to do the Kotz hunt, as it is probably a little out of the budget and not really the experience we're looking for.
    Budget wise we're willing to spend $2500-4000/person. Realizing that my uncle will have to spend a little more just to get here from Oregon and get meat back to Oregon. There will most likely be 4 of us on this trip. Three AK resident (myself, brother and dad) and one out of state (my uncle).

Default PM sent

PM sent with info

Default Float Hunt

Thanks for all the PMs guys. I'm off to a good start.

Default Several options for your float hunt!

Quote Originally Posted by Caleb Humphrey View Post