Thread: Mystery Ranch pack frames

Question Mystery Ranch pack frames

Dos anyone have any experience with this line of packs and frames? I am still looking for a pack frame and found these to be quite interesting.
    http://www.mysteryranch.com

If I'm not mistaken, this is a previous owner of Dana Designs though I have no experience with this new line of packs.

Yes, Dana Gleason designs these packs, it doesn't appear that very many people have used these before.

Default Mystery Ranch packs...

AKHunter45 -
    I got one of their G-6000 (internal frame) models this year, and am planning on taking it on several hunts this fall. I've been carrying it on several conditioning hikes so far this summer, and although I've not really loaded it down (no more than approx. 55 lbs), so far it's hands-down the most comfortable backpack I've ever carried. Loaded, it feels completely different than any other pack I've ever carried. The best way I can describe it is that while the weight is there, I don't notice it as much - it rides better, and doesn't seem to 'run away' from me like many other backpacks I've owned. It's also completely bombproof, with heavy thread and great zippers. At approximately 9 lbs, it is a little heavy, but I didn't buy it for carrying light loads. Hopefully I'll be able to report how it carries with a dead animal in it in a few weeks.

Tom

Have you tried Dana W. Gleason's Mystery Ranch G-6000/-7000 Series (or their
    military counterpart, the BDSB) internal frame packs, AND the K2/Dana Design
    Loadmaster series external frame packs (either the Terraframe, T-1,
    Shortbed, Longbed, or Flatbed)?

If so, I am keenly interested in your impressions concerning the difference
    between how these packs felt with respect to load transfer to the hipbelt
    and the packs' comfort for trail walking over moderate terrain.

By way of background, Dana's external packs handle load transfer differently