Thread: Camera for beginners

Default Camera for beginners

I apologize if there is already a thread on this which I'm almost positive there is but for those who have any other input-
    Im a college student at UAA and love the outdoors. The only camera I've ever had is an Olympus digital camera, and it's worked great for years. However, in my recent outing I spotted a wolverine which was pretty cool; unfortunately, I missed the 25 yard photo shot which would have been awesome! I managed to take a few others but without the zoom the wolverine appears to be a dark dot in the snow.
    Also, I recently began taking photos through a spotting scope on hunting trips to get "more zoom." Some of those actually turned out pretty cool but I really want a higher-grade camera that would allow me to take great photos from further distances. Durability is also a factor- I imagine the camera might possibly "bounce around" a bit over my time.
    Weight/size are also issues because I would love to be able to easily pack it on day trips or sheep hunts.
    Advice, recommendations, knowledge anyone? Thanks for anything and everything in advance
    Does anyone have any recommendations?

Quote Originally Posted by SperBear View Post
    I apologize if there is already a thread on this which I'm almost positive there is but for those who have any other input-
    Im a college student at UAA and love the outdoors. The only camera I've ever had is an Olympus digital camera, and it's worked great for years. However, in my recent outing I spotted a wolverine which was pretty cool; unfortunately, I missed the 25 yard photo shot which would have been awesome! I managed to take a few others but without the zoom the wolverine appears to be a dark dot in the snow.