Thread: High-volume v. Low-Volume v. high capacity revolver rounds?

Default High-volume v. Low-Volume v. high capacity revolver rounds?

In talking to someone who loaded some 500 S&W rounds with a higher burn rate powder in small volumes, he noted that sometimes he'd get a heckuva recoil out of the gun. From my recent reading up on reloading (I'm a newb), this makes sense because of the inconsistent ignition and possibility of the whole volume of powder igniting at once and causing a high pressure spike.

I'd like to discover or develop some low-power loads for the 500 so I can get in lots of range practice prior to working my way up to being able to shoot hot loads with a high-degree of control and quicker second shots. In the 2007 Hodgdon Reloading 'Annual Manual', there's an article on Trail Boss powder (low density/high volume flake powder either for BP replacement in classic cartridges or for plinking loads in new but high-volume cases.) I thought, "Perfect! Light loads that solve the volume issue!" In this article, Charles Petty gives 2 loads for a 500 S&W using lead bullets:

325-gr LFP, 18.0 gn Trail Boss, 1157 fps
    370-gr LFPGC, 16.0 gn Trail Boss, 1061 fps