Thread: Primer brands v. 500 S&W?

Default Primer brands v. 500 S&W?

In reviewing loads for the 500, I see that people always list the LR primer that they used ...are there rules for interchangeability in primers? I know some are hotter than others and what not, but I'm a newbie at this. For example, there's one load that I saw with CCI LRM primers, but I own Fed 210M primers ...any problem in using the Feds? What's the story on primers and how they differ, i.e. in terms of chamber pressure and velocity?

Thanks,
    Brian

As long as you use starting loads and work up you should do fine with your primers.

http://www.jamescalhoon.com/primers_and_pressure.php

Default Primers and loads

Brian,

The first loading manual I ever bought had advice on primers:

Any time you change primers (especially switching from, for instance, standard primers to magnum primers) back off your powder charge at least 10% and work up your loads a little at a time watching for signs of exessive pressure.

The primer is the first step in internal ballistics and literally sparks off everything that happens after the hammer falls. If a primer torches off only 10% of your powder in the first microsecond, the pressure curve will be considerably different than if 20% is lit at the beginning.

Just like the "flame front" inside the cylinder of an internal combustion engine, if it moves too fast, can cause pinging or "knock" or even blow a hole in a piston, if too much of your powder burns before the bullet moves far enough down the barrel, you can get a terrific spike in pressure that can even blow up a chamber. Think about this: Develop a load that gives near-maximum pressures using a standard primer. Then use the same powder with a primer that holds 50% more priming compound (like a magnum primer, but don't quote me on the percentage) The powder in the cartridge is BOUND to burn faster and develop higher pressures right away even if they fall to normal by the time the bullet exits the barrel.