Thread: Bogen-Manfrotto Tripod

Default Bogen-Manfrotto Tripod

Thinking about trying one of the Bogen brand tripods and pistol grip head system. I've looked at various tripods; # 3205GN3, 3001 B Pro, and the 3001 BN. Without having one in my hands its hard to tell which model would be best for a hunting. I will mainly use it for a spotting scope w/ a 65mm tube. For my application I need to find a balance between lightweight, user freindly, and DURABILITY. Anyone have experince with different Bogen tripod models?

How about their pistol grib head w/ quick-release system, #3265?

Right now I'm using a tripod & head made from Outdoorsmans in Arizona. Its a little heavy, (made from Aluminum) but very durable. In fact its the ONLY tripod that I've never broke!

good hunting..>Byron Lamb

Thumbs up Bogen tripods

Are excellent! I am an avid photographer and I used to shoot semi-pro as a wedding photographer. I prefer them over others I have tried. The one I use is the 3025. It has no center post and can be used very close to the ground. It is also very sturdy while still being lightweight and fairly compact.
    I have an adapter that allows me to mount 2 camera's on the tripod at one time. I shoot both 35mm (digital) and medium format, and normally had one of each on the tripod at a time. The tripod handles them well and I have I have even used my 4x5 view camera on it even though it is a bit small for that.
    I'm not totally familiar with all their models but I doubt you would regret owning one.
    A close friend of mine is a Wildlife Photographer (he just returned from Alaska on a Griz shoot). He also uses Bogen, and uses BIG HEAVY lenses and uses the equipment hard.... never heard him say a bad thing....

Don't remember the model, but bought at Barney's a long time ago. Best I have ever owned. Expensive though.

Default Pistol Grip