Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jet Motor--Inboard vs. Outboard?

Default Jet Motor--Inboard vs. Outboard?

Can anyone tell me the benefits and drawbacks of an inboard jet vs. an outboard jet? I understand that the inboard takes up more room in the boat, however, from my understanding, you can get more power with an inboard. Is this the only benefit?

With an outboard jet, is it more likely that the jet unit will get bashed on rocks and other obsticles more easily? It just seems that with an inboard jet, the unit is more protected, as some boats have the welded bars surrounding them (excuse my terminology, as I'm new to jet boating). It just seems that with an inboard, you may be able to go shallower and over more extreme obsticles.

Any other input on one option vs. the other is appreciated!

I have an outboard jet. The only thing that I can think of that sucks is that I cannot put a cab heater that uses the engine coolant. I don't have a big table to walk around in the back of the boat either. I use less fuel than my friends with inboards. There are alot of variables to compare apples with apples. HP, # of people or load, etc..... A boat needs to fit the intended purpose of its owner. I got the biggest motor that I could justify with my needs and fuel prices.

Default outboard vs. inboard