Thread: AK-47 building anyone?

Default AK-47 building anyone?

Got some kits on the way. The new import rules on them are strict so I figure better snatch some up before they are gone/worthless.
    I have never built an AK before, but there is a HUGE resource on the net as well as AGI gunsmithing video courses.
    Has anyone here built one or want too? I wouldnt mind haveing a partner or two in this endeavor. Also there is some jigs to buy and splitting the cost on those would be nice.

I have a Romanian kit on the way. Unfired for 135, bought the unbent receiver flat for 30.00.

Bought two Yugo M95 underfolder kits. Chambered for .223 Those were brand new unissued. 410 a piece. Those were expensive as far as kits go.

Check them out and let me know, or offer some expertise!
    Thanks.

Oh yeah, AK's are dang fun! I have a yugo M70, the thing is pretty accurate and reliable. Not to mention fun. I cant believe I scoffed at them for so long.

When you say "AK-47" you are actually referring to the legal, semi-automatic, non-registered version, yes?
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

yeah. I am talking about building legit Ak's for fun or resale. And its totally legal to do. Its just like AR building. You can Make your own reciever. But If you do you can not sell the gun. Or you can buy a premade SN reciever and use that. Then you can sell the gun.

No dak spud has formed receivers, FFL required to order.
    I built one, came out OK. I don't have enough confidence to bend the rcvr flats myself. Fun project!

Im going with a cold steel solutions blank. Its pre bent, no holes. 40.00 No ffl required. So I wont need to get a jig.
    Still a couple of New Romanain kits for 130.00 available. I already have all the tools at home for the project using 80% blanks or formed recievers. SO in theory I should be able to put a Ak together for just a hair over 250 dollars using the required number of US parts.