Thread: Techniques for fly fishing. Need advice.

Default Techniques for fly fishing. Need advice.

I am relatively new to fly fishing and brand new to fly fishing in Alaska. I am going to spend 13 days in August fishing for dollies and grayling on one of the lower tributaries of the Noatak. I hear alot about wet fly swing and drift fishing streams. Could some one tell me how to do this and recommended leader configurations. What is the best way to add weight to the leader. I have used some split shot but it keeps coming off. I will be taking a sink tip and floating line. I have 7 1/2 ft and 9 ft leaders for the floating line and some 4 ft leaders for the sink tip. I am curious how to fish flies like polar shrimp, battle creek specials, mickey finns, and glo bugs. Any special techniques? I know this sounds like simple stuff, but no one I know here in Nome flyfishes very much and I really want to be prepared for this trip. Any suggestions, as always, are greatly appreciated.

Default Come On Fellas

I Am Not Asking For Grandmas Apple Pie Recipe. Offer Some Insights. I Got A Few Books To Help Get Me Started, But They Dont Discuss The Techniques Needed To Fish Up Here.

Default this may help

Most of the streamer / wooly bugger/ leach type patterns I fish down and across. Just cast across the stream at a slight down stream angle try to keep the line leader and fly in a straight line and keep rod tip low. Make sure you have a little slack in your line hand to take up some of the shock of a big hit. You can also high stick as you would with a nymph to get the fly down a little lower (although you don't cover as much water) watch as the leader enters the film if it stops give a little strip set if no weight is felt continue the drift if you fell wieght raise your rod tip and hold on.