Thread: Choosing river

Default Choosing river

I am from Norway and planning a monthly long canoeingtrip to Alaska in June/August next year. My plane arrives at Fairbanks and I was hoping to limit the bushplane costs. The river I am looking for is a river with some tricky parts and of corse a lot of wildlife.

Do John River or Beaver Creek match these criterias, or are there any better alternatives?

Default canoe rivers

for a month long or longer trip. Wow... what an adventure....
    have you searched out and read the river reports that are here on the site
    http://outdoorsdirectory.com/areas/
    These are dated. but for the most part will be acurate for the most part..
    try to find Karen Jetmars book on Alaska rivers, as it is pretty good also...
    I myself have never been on a trip longer than 2 weeks ,, so I have no experience on a month or two of travel on one river system.. I have done parts of many rivers. and tributary rivers that ended up in larger rivers,, such as ,,,, well rivers that dump into the Yukon... but one of my choices for a long summer paddle would be to start in canada on on the Porcupine and just keep going,,, and going and going until I hit tide water....
    max
    When you come to a fork in the trail, take it!

Rentals for Canoes, Kayaks, Rafts, boats serving the Kenai canoe trail system and the Kenai river for over 15 years. www.alaskacanoetrips.com

Default Tripping sugestion

There are other sites that have quite a bit of canoe tripping info....here are a couple: http://www.kck.org/.... /www.kayak.y...ckc/index.html