Thread: Rev chassi benefits.

Default Rev chassi benefits.

Okay, I'm new to snowmachining up here and am looking for a good used sled, not to old. In my searches have noticed a huge price diff. in any of the Skidoo Rev. chassi machines over the others. I realize that the new Rev chassi has "revolutionized" the market but just was wondering if you guys could give me some more info on why it is so much better to warrant the price jump compared to other used sleds? Lets compare a 2005 Summit or MXXZ 600 or 700 to the same year RMK.

Palmer, AK

The REV's rider forward position is more comfortable and just plain better suited to nearly all riding conditions. I rode my 04' AC 800 Mountain Cat into and half way out of the crummy trail in petersville. Halfway out my brother in law saw how miserable I was and traded machines with me (05 summit REV 600) within 5 miles he was feeling nearly as awful as I was and I was actually starting to feel better! I would consider any of the new rider forward sleds as long as I could sit and stand comfortably. My 40 something father in law rips it up on a REV and wouldn't own anything else. He insists that he wouldn't even consider attacking any of the hills he climbs regularly with his REV on his old machines even if he was 10 years younger. The new polaris IQ chassis(I think), and the AC "M" series are also very good. If you shop hard you can get good deals on an M7 and I have seen a REV 800 sold in a pinch for as little as $4500!

They are not for everyone. Prior to 08 before they moved the leg position forward you sat on top of your legs. Leg, hip, back and shoulder fatique is very common for taller guys. I'm 6' 2" and I have only rode one for an extended period once and that was enough for me.
    They do real well in the bumps and turns thats for sure but a couple of the guys I ride with have Summits and are usually pretty stoved up by the time we get into Maclaren lodge.