Thread: halibut charter from Cordova, Seward, or Homer?

Default halibut charter from Cordova, Seward, or Homer?

I'll be in AK at the end of June 08 and would like to go out on a halibut charter trip. I'll be in Cordova, Seward, and Homer, but which of these places would be the best place for a halibut charter (in terms of number of fish, size, and quality of the experience)? Any reccomendations (or warnings) about specific charter companies? Other locations I'm not considering (e.g., Whittier)?

Many thanks in advance.

I have very little experience with charters, but from personal fishing in the three locations (and two half-day charters in Homer), I would say that you should choose...

-Homer for # of fish

-Seward for size of fish

-Cordova for overall experience.

Granted, all of the three offer excellent fishing and a chance for truly large halibut. 300+ pound fish are caught every year out of Homer, but most charters stay closer in where the fish are smaller. If you find the right boat (and pay the right price), you can catch huge halibut out of Homer and have a great experience. Your general charter out of Homer, though, will focus on sheer #'s of halibut, typically in the 20-30 pound range. As for Seward, it is completely weather dependant. If you're on a boat that makes it out to Montegue, the fish are often larger average size than other ports. Not always, but often. As for Cordova, it's a fishery that recieves considerably less pressure than the other two. Cool little town, and great scenery and fishing out of there.

Fished out of Homer last year. Had 9 flatties on the 1 day trip to 35 lbs. Not huge but still a lot of fun. Water was rough though and 1/2 the boat was green.

homer for size and numbers.
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Default Homer charters