Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 4 Person track vehicle

Default 4 Person track vehicle

This year we tried a couple atv's with AD Bovin tracks during moose and caribou season on the Seward Pennisula. Have to go over granite (crushed and boulders), lots of frozen tundra no snow, 2 feet of snow, rivers (open and frozen).

I was not impressed with this brand of tracks. Much cheaper than say Mattracks and much less capable. They cant handle the contour changes, too rigid. Some of the riders not very atv savvy either. Broke the tracks and a arms and drive shafts.

I have some experience with argos on wheels, but only in water, mud, and relatively smooth ground.

My questions are:
    1. For those running argos, do they have much suspension? I mean, can you travel over ruff stuff without getting bounced out or breaking the machine?
    2. Does anyone make a small, 2-4 person (or 2 plus cargo), tracked vehicle that has suspension travel similar to todays atv's that can handle all seasons all terrains?
    3. I am contemplating building a couple small rigs for next year based off of atv components and two 6-8 foot long tracks. Any suggestions as to build imput or personal preferences? Any interest in purchasing such a rig if one was available? How much would you spend on such a rig?

They make a 2 man argo , But I'm here to tell Argos have NO SUSPENSION !!!! But they go over just about anything.I have been thru some NASTY stuff and never had a problem with things breaking I have had 6 Adults in ther no problem,Unless you do stuff like this ...........
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PEOPLE SAY I HAVE A.D.D I DON'T UNDERSTA.....OH LOOK A MOOSE !!!

If you are doing 6-8 foot tracks sounds like an argo anyway....Minus the suspension, You might want to look in to a C.O.O.T
    PEOPLE SAY I HAVE A.D.D I DON'T UNDERSTA.....OH LOOK A MOOSE !!!

Goosepilot,