Thread: Teacher in need of help

Default Teacher in need of help

Hello all,

Ok here is my issue and I hope you don't mind me asking it in the hunting forum.

My brother and I booked a float hunt for sept 08. I am a teacher and getting time off during September is impossible but there was a good shot at getting the time. However, I was denied my first request for the time. I mentioned the great possiblities I can bring back to the school with my experiences in Alaska. I am a PE and Health teacher. The importance of Nutrition, fitness and the environment is what I mentioned. I can teach a unit in health with first hand experience about the environment and our impact plus I can run an outdoors club for the students.

I would like help or information on putting together an educational unit on the importance of preserving our environment and wilderness areas. Unfortunated i live in Connecticut and the local pressures would not appreciate the hunting aspect of our trip. Thank you for your time and help.

Default Low-impact hunt!

Maybe you could focus the unit on low-impact ways to enjoy the wilderness? Float hunting is a low impact method, if certain practices are followed. Here are some things I recommend:

1. Deposit human waste at least 200 yards from the river.

2. Avoid latrine pits; concentrated waste can pollute the water table. Dig cat holes instead.

3. Don't cut trees down. Break limbs for firewood instead (most folks like to feel they are the first ones there, and cut-off stumps erode that experience).

4. Do minimal site preparation for the footprint of your tent. Instead of digging a trench around the tent, cutting down tussocks and brush, choose a well-drained gravel bar campsite.

5. Build campfires on a gravel bar not far from the river. High water will scour the evidence, restoring the area to its pristine state.

6. Repack your food to minimize the trash buildup in the field and haul out everything you bring with you.