Thread: Wallas Heaters

Default Wallas Heaters

I'm curious about Wallas Heaters. I'm looking to replace the heating / cooking setup in my bowpicker and I keep reading good things about Wallas heaters. I have had some experience with the forced air heaters that Wallas makes and I wasn't too impressed with the performance. I'm thinking that they were probably undersize for the vessel they were installed in.

I have a diesel main, so I'm looking at the 30D furnace or potentially one of the cooktop heaters / oven combination. Does anyone have one of the 87D units? (They are the cooktop / oven combo) Are the 87D's compatible with a blower lid? For those of you that have the blower lids, how effective are they at keeping a cabin warm? I have a 28 foot bowpicker with a relatively small cabin. Probably 8' x 9' or thereabouts. The current setup (Dickinson Alaska stove) works to keep the cabin warm, but I have to use a seperate gimbal mounted propane burner to cook on. I'm about to lose my mind listening to the noisy pulse pump that supplies fuel to the dickinson. That reminds me... do the wallas heaters have their own fuel pump, or do you have to run a low pressure pump (like a pulse pump) to supply the fuel to the unit?

My other idea is to mount a 30D forced air heater (or espar) in the engine room, with ducting to the cabin, and get a propane two burner cooktop / oven (Force 10 or equivalent). Anybody else do things similar or have ideas?

I've got a Wallas combo heater/cooktop with the blower lid on a C-Dory 22. It provides adequate heat but doesn't circulate the heat at all. If you're commercial fishing, I assume you want stuff that is serviceable by yourself. The Wallas has a fairly high tech circuit board with micro processor controls. If it goes belly up you're hosed. Wallas won't sell you another board because they insist that it must be tuned to the stove. You have to send the whole thing to Seattle.