Thread: Blister management

Default Blister management

Ok, with sheep hunting almost here and training in high gear, what is the best way to cover, treat and reduce the pain and expansion of the blister. I have used new skin and it works ok and disinfects. Just wondering what the pro's use.

Terry

Mole Skin. Cut it larger than the blister, and stick it on.

Kurt

Default Prevention

I'm no Pro and I don't want to be a smart alek but I think prevention really is the best medicine. I believe that with proper fitting boots well broke in, footbeds, and good socks you can be blister free. Change wet socks often. Moisture and heat/friction causes the blister. If you start to feel ANYTHING at all that may be a hot spot stop and fix it.

Three years ago I went on a 10 day 50 mile round trip sheep hunt packing 70-100 lbs. Some of the days were very warm thus adding to sweating feet. Not one blister or even a hot spot. I attribute it to good fitting boots and footbeds and merino wool socks. Last moose season hiking in the hills I got one small blister in boots that weren't quite broke in. This summer packing for sheep hunting with 85lbs they are great, no probs.

You can put rubbing alchohol on your feet a couple times a day for a while and that helps toughen up the skin. You can also try covering problem areas with duct tape ahead of time. I have done this while breaking in boots. You have to fit it really good though. No creases.

Having said all that I do carry moleskin also.
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and don’t have one, you’ll probably never need one again

Default Blister treatment recommendation

This is what I use for anyone that I'm hiking/hunting with that needs it. I've also read that many extreme sports folks (eco-challenge,..etc.) swear by this system.