Thread: Hunting Bear over Bait

Default Hunting Bear over Bait

I am interested in discussing hunting bear over bait in and around Sheep Creek and Talkeetna region. I am new to black bear hunting so am unsure about staking out a stand, baiting, and what all is involved. Rather than try to establish my own site I was hoping to share an established stand with a hunter who would be willing to mentor me in hunting black bear?
    In exchange I would share bait & fuel costs, time commitment/stand maintenance? I live in Anchorage, hardworking, professional, responsible, and NOT looking for a free ride.
    Thanks in advance,

With all the cabins in the Talkeetna and Sheep Creek areas, and the higher population of actual residents now, it is getting tougher and tougher to meet the one mile requirement from a cabin/house to set a bear bait.

Your tactic of looking to share a bait is a good idea. I know at least two dozen established baits in the area and I stay away from them out of respect. Hopefully one of those guys will chime in.

I happen to live in the area and I spend a huge amount of time GPS'ing new cabins and looking for new areas to bait that I can access with an ATV. I can say that within one mile either side of the Parks Highway from the Kashwitna River north to the Susitna River and the entire Talkeetna Spur Road there is not a single place that you can even build a trail to set up a bear bait legally meeting the requirements of being 1 miles from a house and 1/4 mile from a road or trail and not tresspassing to gain access. There are a few holes on the back sides of some of the subdivisions that are accessable, but they are few and far between.

Good luck on finding a partner. If I didn't have two kids that hunted with me I'd hook you up.

Default book on bear baiting