Thread: Delta Bison...."Once In A Lifetime."

Default Delta Bison...."Once In A Lifetime."

The following post is not whining....I swear.

I've been putting in for Delta Bison - bull or cow - since I was 38 years old. I've had no luck.... and I'm now 64. My point isn't... poor me. Rather, I think, with the large number of people who apply for those hunts, it's unjustifiable to allow anyone to put in again after having been successfully drawn once. Too many hunters are never drawn. A Delta Bison permit should be "Once In A Lifetime". There are other bison hunts that can be applied for... Farewell, Copper River.

My odds of being drawn wouldn't improve, but each permit drawn would go to someone who has never had a permit before.... not someone, with good fortune, who gets a second blessing from AkF&G.

"Once In A Lifetime" would increase, although modestly, the number of hunters who get the privilege of hunting Delta Bison. It would certainly be more equitable than the current system.

My neighbor has been putting in for 28 years ..I thought I had no chance in heck ,So I never put in and he keep telling me too so 7 years later I put in this year for the first time " AND I WON "...........

I will agree with you ..I thought of this hunt as a once in a lifetime hunt. But there were 2 people in my orinintaion that this was the 2nd time they drew a Delta tag..
    PEOPLE SAY I HAVE A.D.D I DON'T UNDERSTA.....OH LOOK A MOOSE !!!

Default Delta Bison

.... and, those two second time "winners" were there, preventing 2 Alaskans, who have never had a permit, from having a chance to hunt Delta Bison. (Sometimes, I suspect that the "drawing" may be rigged... manual, not blind... but I'm being cynical.)

"Once In A Lifetime" would be equitable to all Alaskans. The current system is clearly not.

Thanks, Roger.

I agree with you on this and think much the same thing of the DCUA and TMA sheep draws. But thats just my two cents!

Rob