Thread: 250 Ackley Improved

Default 250 Ackley Improved

While I've been reloading for going on 30 years, I 've never had a wildcat. Tomorrow I pick up my Savage 99 rechambered to 250 Ackley improved. The only load data I can find other than P O Ackleys original 4350 loads is in the Sierra loading manual. I'm primarily working with 100 grain bullets.

Thanx

Big Al will sign on sooner or later and fill you in. He's a fan of the 250 AI, as I recall. Ole PO's book has loads of data, but that's about as reliable as the early Hodgdon manuals for recommended max loads.

One thing to watch out for in the 99 as you start running up pressures- You may end up needing a small base sizing die. Cases from my 99 with the standard 250 chambering come out just a wee bit tight with a single firing of factory loads, but if I start with new cases and back of max about 5% I can go through lots of reloadings without resorting to the SB die.

Does the rifle come with a set of dies?

No, no dies. $146.95 from RCBS. Nobody else stocks this item

Do not use the loading data from P.O. ACKLEY books!

Danger, that data is just flat out dangerous.

Start with the current loading data for the .250 Savage and work up from there. Go to the Hodgdon web site for help with data.

http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp

You can shop around for used dies on the net.

If you have any problems, please PM me, and we can talk on the phone.

There is loads of help right here on this forum, just ask!
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tryants." (Thomas Jefferson

"Do not use the loading data from P.O. ACKLEY books!"