Thread: Scope recommendations

Default Scope recommendations

If you were floating for moose with a Rem 7600 in 35 Whelen, what scope would you want on it? I'm a noob to float hunting and moose and that rifle but planning on all three next year. Thanks.

Default Don't Overscope...

I'd say maybe a 2-7x variable power, and leave it on 2x...if a long shot offers itself, you'll have time to crank the scope up tp 7x. Float hunting provides the chance to round a bend and be up close and personal with moose and/or bears, so the 2x will let you acquire your target quickly if you need to.

Michael

Default Agree!

I like what MdHunter said.

2-7x is a great all-around scope. Some will say 2.5-whatever or 1.5 to whatever. Any of those will work for you as long as you can shoot in a hurry up close and zoom out for a longer distance shot.

As for brand, I would choose any of the top quality brands. They are all good. Some have more features on them than others. I like simple scopes without a lot of stuff to fool with. Some guys are gadget guys though.

The more you spend does not kill them deader though. I've had guys show up carrying scopes worth more than I'd make on the hunt but couldn't hit the broadside of the barn. Then I've had guys show up with a beat-up rifle with just a plane jane "quality" scope and be able to out shoot any of the other hunters. Practice Practice Practice

Silver vs. Black Is your rifle stainless or blued? Do you want matching pretty or the good deal? If you have a stainless rifle and can find a good deal on a silver scope great. If the good deal is only on the black scope, how much is pretty worth to you?

Hope it gives some insight. Have a great float.

I also like what MdHunter said. The thing to consider when picking the brand is insure it has a good reputation for quality and its water and fog proof.

If you haven't float hunted before, I would highly recommend Larry Bartlett's video Float Hunting Alaska Vol I.