Thread: How to photograph Northern Lights...

Default How to photograph Northern Lights...

Thinking about flying up to Chena Hot Springs in March to catch the lights. Getting ready to buy my first DSLR and wanted to know if anyone would mine sharing thoughts on how to photograph them. I am new to photography so talk to me like a kid and I should get it. I just used point and shoots till now. Hoping to get some good pictures of the lights. Any suggestions on camera settings, shutter speed, and lens selection would be most appreciated.

Here's a bunch of information, although it relates to film instead of digital. Still, the ideas are about the same. http://www.ptialaska.net/~hutch/aurora.html

Most digital SLRs need a slightly wider lens to capture the same field of view as a film camera. So instead of a 35mm lens, you might want to try a 24mm. Also some DSLRs have better low light image quality than others, so if you are going to do a lot of this, it should influence your camera's brand & model.

Basic idea for a starting point is to use manual focus with a reasonably wide lens, set the ISO to 800, lens aperture to f/2.8, and hold the shutter open for 10-15 seconds. Always use a tripod, and trip the shutter with a remote device/cord.

I don't do it myself, but here are some instructions on how to take such photos with a digital SLR camera:
    http://www.royhooper.ca/articles/aurora.html

And to find out about auroras activity in Alaska, this is the place to ask (UAF):
    http://www.gi.alaska.edu/

Checklist:

-Study Tripod
    -Mirror Lockup
    -cable release or self timer
    -apeture to widest setting
    -wide angle lens (~28mm)
    -focus to infinity
    -100 iso
    -20-60 second shutter (the shorter the better, but make sure you expose enough)
    -Northern Lights

Haines (not great, not very many displays in SE)
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.