Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: couple of bad rounds (no fires)

Default couple of bad rounds (no fires)

I loaded up a few casull rounds. I used 27 g H110 powder, CPB LFNGC 300 bullets with Federal SR primers.

Well Loaded up the cylinder. Proceeded to fire Gun. First two shots were touching, Next two shots were 6 inches to the right. 5th shot just fizzed and spit the bullet. Powder unburned.

Unloaded gun of the 6th round. Checked casings (nothing abnormalprimers struck), then loaded a fresh one out of the bag. Just shot it into the dirt bank. Then I loaded another round, it might have been one from the original full cylinder. That one fizzed and stuck the bullet in the barrel. Again, unburnt powder.

What went wrong? Not enough crimp? Bad set of primers? Im pretty sure that powder was good. I loaded up a bunch of rounds out of that can a couple of months ago, and they all worked.

Im a newbie at loading lead and so far these were the first handloads of mine I have ever had a problem with

It sounds like you either have bad primers, or bad powder. One of the golden rules of reloading is to never touch the anvil side of the primers. If they were handled or poured into your hand, oils and sweat will cause them to either be duds or only partially ignite.
    Now just why in the hell do I have to press "1" for English???

Default Check everything

Check to make sure you are getting the proper amount of powder in each case, Check bullet diameter, and make sure you donít have some undersize bullets. Double check every thing before you go any farther, if you are some how not getting enough powder in the case then it is also possible you could get to much powder (bad thing) Triple check everything

Hey! If I look thru this empty beer bottle, I think I can see Russia from here!!!