Thread: Lots of sign, at the wrong time. Someone wise, please help

Default Lots of sign, at the wrong time. Someone wise, please help

This Sunday (11/04) I went out to Sutton to hunt for coyote, fox or lynx. I staked out above a neighborhood where I use to dirtbike. Everytime I went there I always noticed a zillion wild rabbits. Anyways, this area had fresh snow and there was sign EVERYWHERE! Rabbit tracks crossed every little trail about every 5 feet. I also noticed some tiny tracks made by a small four legged animal that drags it's tail as it walks (I'm guessing a rat or something similar?). Now that i'm looking at pictures them, I realize I saw a LOT of coyote tracks. Problem is I wasnt able to get out of the house in the morning and get there until about 11:30 in the morning. The sun was already high. I used a good mouth call for almost 4 hours, moving twice. Nothing.....nothing.........aaaaaaaand MORE nothing. I'm brand new at hunting for predator's. I'm pretty sure I was calling correctly and I thought after 3 hours I would see at least ONE of the critters.
    BOTTOM LINE: IS THERE A "BEST" TIME OF DAY TO CALL FOR PREDATORS? Do they all nap during the day? And is there any difference in time of day for fox, coyote or lynx? Thanks for the help
    __________________________________________________ _____________

"The scenery in this state makes a fruitless hunt still worth it."

Calling at night was always the most productive for me. Get a trapping license though if your going to do that. But early morning or late in the afternoon is the best daylight times.

Plus you gotta be real camoed up, Hold real still and maybe tie some feathers or something like that to a stick so when something answers the call they get distracted.

Also wait and wait and wait some more. 30 minutes should be your min wait time.

It never ceases to amaze me how the predators can pick you out and vanish.