Thread: caribou help

Default caribou help

I am wanting to book a caribou hunt for fall of 2008 but I really have no idea where to begin, was wondering if someone could give me some advice as to what areas to focus on for a good chance a getting into some, I would like to do a drop off hunt. It would be my first time hunting caribou so im pretty unfamilliar with where to go and how to get started. Could anyone give me some advice for flight services and what areas to look at. What can I expect to pay etc I am a resident.
    Thanks for any help
    Thanks for any help

The best thing you could do is spend a few hours searching through the archives here. Type in the following search terms and see what you think:

-Kotzebue caribou
    -WACH
    -Bettles Caribou
    -Mulchatna Herd
    -Deltana Outfitters

That should be enough to give you a general idea on the options for three of the more popular and productive drop-off options. Good luck - planning is half the fun!

I haven't done a caribou fly out yet, but plan on it. This forum member -northwestalska (www.northwestalska.com)- seems to know what's going on in the Kotzebue region. Everyone tends to be gravitating towards either the Western Arctic Caribou Herd or the Central Arctic Herd, as the Mulchatna seems to be mostly a bust.

Guys (air taxi's) that operate out of Kotzebue and advertise $2000 +/- per hunter are only taking hunters 40-50 miles out of Kotzebue. Best to hook up with northwestalska, as he knows the air taxi situation up there. I'm looking into a 08 and/or 09 hunt too.

Larry Bartlett (pristineventures.com) seems like an easy way to plan a hunt to. For a nominal fee he'll plan your hunt for you and provide maps, etc. Guys who use him seem to like him Mike Strahan plans/guides hunts too (michaelstrahan.net). I believe both may rent gear as well.