Thread: Kodiak Advice

Question Kodiak Advice

I was wondering if anyone has tried the RB230/RB260 hunt out of Kodiak. I was thinking about doing that hunt next spring and was curious if anyone has had any success with it or if I'd be wasting my time. I'm an AK resident and too poor to hire a guide, and would appreciate any advice anyone would be willing to give. Thanks and I look forward to your comments.

Fuse

almost... a waste of time...almost. well, mostly i'd say...
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

Default Not a waste

I've had great success in fall and spring. 1999 I shot a boar that squared 9' 8" with a scull of 29". The following year my hunting partner shot a 9'6" in the same spot. Through the years I've been on five successful hunts with co-workers. It's just like any other hunting were you have to put the time and research in.

P.S. Before everyone gets in an up roar...no I don't guide I just go along for the fun of it.

Default clairfy...

between 60-100 hunters....average of 6-8 bears killed=almost a waste.
    yes bears there, two will die next week in town, one tiny sow at buskin and the average boar there as well. didn't mean to make it sound like no one ever kills bears, just a far cry from the normal success rate across the island.
    Master guide 212

that explains why you never see bears on the road system except at the dump
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

The dump has been fenced off for 6 or 7 years. You don't see bears there anymore.

Default Plenty of Bears

Brwnbr is right some idiots will kill those bears on the Buskin the first week, but those bears aren't the only ones in that river. In the past 3 weeks of hard bow hunting I've seen 8 bears, 3 of those worth shooting. Only two of those are in the Buskin, and neither are worth shooting.

As for a waste of time and the odds against the other area's that Kodiak has, here's some numbers.