Thread: New to forum

Default New to forum

Hi everyone, Thanks for all the info. Like JOAT I'm new at this. Less than a month ago I was surprised with a German Wirehaired Pointer now 4 1/2 mos. old. I've been reading and watching the Richard Wolter books. Reading the forum I believe that I'm trying to rush things. Can I work on Sit, Stay, Come, Heel and Fetch all at the same time? A few minutes of each every evening. When should I introduce wing and scent to my dummies? And again the Whoa command?

Default Training

Obedience can be practiced at any time. It can be done in a formal drill with a long line or you can just do it while you are waiting for your microwave dinner to get done. At first you want to break each one down. Sit, come,heel and etc. should each be taught seperately. Later you can combine them. Such as heel then sit command.
    Let them learn and distinguish what each means before you try having them multi tasking. Multi tasking a young dog or untrained dog will just confuse them. Leading to a frustrated handler and a dog that will roll over on its belly in submission. If they do this you didn't "TEACH" Be ready to slow down.
    Reading the books that are available are a good source to get you started. One thing books don't teach or explain is how to read your dog or handle soft dogs or stubborn ones. Each takes a seperate approach in how you communicate with the dog. If you run into problems contact someone that can help. I highly recommend working with someone experienced in handling gundogs. You can learn a lot by just watching.
    This forum is a great place to meet folks. Heck, this forum should have next years gundog clubs booming with new membership.
    I'm cutting this one short but I've got more to say. I'll get back to you later. I've gotta get ready for a training session before it gets any later.