Thread: Northern Lights Help!!!

Default Northern Lights Help!!!

I would like to start taking pictures of the northern lights but dont know what settings I should be at. I am brand new to photography and have a Nikon D40 but cant figure out the right settings to use for the lights. Can someone who has experience walk me through on the right settings so I can get some great pics and which lens I should be using. I have a 18-55mm lens and also a 70-300mm lens. I have also heard that you should use manual focusinstead of auto? If anyone can be a book of knowledge for me on this it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by bowtechshooter View Post
    I would like to start taking pictures of the northern lights but dont know what settings I should be at. I am brand new to photography and have a Nikon D40 but cant figure out the right settings to use for the lights. Can someone who has experience walk me through on the right settings so I can get some great pics and which lens I should be using. I have a 18-55mm lens and also a 70-300mm lens. I have also heard that you should use manual focusinstead of auto? If anyone can be a book of knowledge for me on this it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
    I use my Canon XTi with a 16-35 f/2.8. Shut the autofocus off, use manual. Set it to infinity. That's the little sideways "8" on your lens. ISO of around 400-800. I try many different settings during a shoot but find I get the better results with a f/stop of around f/4 to f/8, ISO 400 and a 10-20 second exposure. The longer the exposure the more noise you will have. I'm anxious to try my 5D out this year and hopefully have less noise.
    EricL