Thread: Cata-Canoe?

Default Cata-Canoe?

I was talking to Mike about this issue. How it might address some of the problems of deciding what to buy and the pros and cons of the different types of rafts vs the situations that you can face as well as the line of thought that one boat can do it all, one rifle can't do it all ect. I saw one picture of someone that had made one but was wondering if anyone here had some close up pictures and some detailed input on how they did it, why, and how it works for them. I love this forum!!

Default Alaska Raft and Kayak

Simple go out to AR&K home page look at their photo's Simple to accomplish and works for some people.

Good Luck.

Default Raft

Are you talking about these?

http://www.alaskaraftandkayak.com/ga...ng&img=294&r=6

http://www.alaskaraftandkayak.com/ga...6_10_15_49.jpg

I was thinking about this. I already have a Cat, but two travellers would be nice. I am not sure how much weight they could do. I have no experience with them. That being said, it seems like they would be a pretty slick set up, since you could have two boats, or one depending on your trip.

Default Cata-canoe info.

Hi folks,

The cata-canoe concept has been around for quite a while. My former hunting partner, Paul Jobe, used to own a company in Anchorage called "Wild Alaska Rivers Company". At that time he was the AIRE and Northwest River Supplies dealer for the state of Alaska, a privilege now owned by Alaska Raft and Kayak. At any rate, we began to discuss the idea of connecting two canoes together into a cataraft about fifteen years ago, and I'm sure others were doing it before we thought of it. Not knowing what to call it, we invented the name "cata-canoe". The first photos I ever saw of such a rig were from a trip taken by another friend of mine named Kim Tatman. His pics are some of the ones posted on Alaska Raft and Kayak's website.

Here's an overview of some of the pluses and minuses:

POSITIVES