Thread: General Predator Calling Question

Default General Predator Calling Question

I was just curious how many guys around Alaska are into calling predators (Wolf, Coyotes, Lynx, Wolverine etc)? If so, how and what products (Mouth calls or E-callers (FoxPro, Minaska, WT)etc. is everybody using? What sounds have worked and are there any special "tricks" that anybody is willing to share? I've been calling for a couple years now and keep calling in Lynx out of season. Rabbit/Hare sounds are working as well as some of the bird distress sounds. I've called in some with Crit-R calls and also several with my FoxPro and Minaska. I like the electronic calls since they can keep the critters focused on something else. That and the fact that the mouth calls like to freeze up here in the interior fairly quick on a cold day. I've had Coyotes respond several times, but never show themselves. Wolf have howled back, but I can never lay sight on them either. This season I'm hoping to connect. Thanks for any input and feedback on my questions.

All I have ever done was call coyotes back home for years with a mouth call.Like you said in the winter they tend to freeze up,so I usually carry several calls with me,which also helps in changing up on voices.
    I think I flew down to Arizona 3 years ago and we hit one of our old stands down by Tombstone,and I know this might sound crazy but to be succesful you have to try different things and on this morning we set up low in a dry wash with a good field of view and my partner set up a fox-pro and dang If we didnt call one dog in
    Anyhow Ive never been around a non-mouth call before till then and I was leary at best, but dang if that thing didnt work.SO! Ive been thinking of purchasing one myself.Daniel

Quote Originally Posted by snowcamoman View Post