Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best chronograph

Default Best chronograph

Looking for some member input on which chronograph to purchase. My options are the Pro chrono, Pact or Shooting Chrony. Need some reviews good and bad to make my choice.

I have a Pact and it works! They are a very good company that provides service when needed. This is the only one I have ever used so can not make a comparison. J.

I've had the PACT for several years. It's the only one I've used. It has worked fine for me.

I have used the same Chrony since I bought it.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

I would look at the CED chronograph. I have an older shooting Chrony that works OK, but isn't near the machine as the CED chronographs. A couple guys at my gun club have the CED units and I really like them.

http://cedhk.com/show.php/Object29

Woody

Thanks to all who replied. I have been wanting a cronograph for 35 years now. Since my birthday is at the end of october I was going to play the birthday card on my wife for a crono when one of my good buddies decided to sell his Ruger no.1 375 H&H 2-7 VX-II with 75 rounds of factory ammo. After I let him talk himself down in price I played the birthday card on him instead and got it all for $600. O well, there's always Christmas .

You can (or used to be able to) get factory refurbed shooting chronies for $40-50 depending on the model. Too cheap not to have one. I eventually killed mine w/ an errant gas check. The downside of shooting chronies as they don't work well when the sun is at a low angle, i.e. in the winter.

Thumbs up PACT experience