Thread: Need A Good Gun Smith

Default Need A Good Gun Smith

I have three to four different firearms on which I'd like to have some specific work done.

I spoke with Stan Jackson this A.M., and he doesn't/won't do some of the jobs that I need done; specifically relative to Super Redhawk actions.

One option offered was 'Actions by Gene,' but I have no personal experience with his work, nor references from others who've used him. (If anyone has had work done by him, please PM me with opinions.)

I have a Winchester XTR Sporter in .338 Win Mag; it's got a machined muzzle brake (as opposed to 'thread-on'), a black baked enamel finish, and Leupold VX-II 4-12X40mm w/AO, with Leupold medium height quick release rings and 2-piece bases, as well as iron sights. It's been bedded. The medium-heighth (.77") matte rings are too short to accomodate the rear sight and even a miiscule scope cover at the same time, so I'm raising the scope up .23" add'l with the Leupold 'super high' (1" height) matte QR rings.

Since refinishing this rifle with the baked enamel, every now and again, (as in 'not every time it's in use') the second or third shot will bind the bolt. It will still rotate/unlock, but it is NOTABLY difficult to extract the spent case; not a situation that instills confidence when in the bush in bear country. I often use 225 grain random federal ammunition in this firearm. It's possible that resurfacing or polishing the inside of the breech/chamber might alleviate some of the problem here. It's also been told to me that federal's brass is often too soft, and can create this condition. Opinions?