Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: which dog is better?

Question which dog is better?

I'm ready to get a hunting dog, and I can't decide between a german shorthaired pointer or a yellow lab. Anyone have any experience with both? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Actually I own two Labs and a GSP...I have no experience with the GSP Im trying.BUt Ive had labs a long time.
    So depending on If you are going to Waterfowl or Upland Game hunt will be your deciding factor.Now my lab that I hunt is well rounded and does it all.My pointer does not like to swim.
    I hope that kinda helps you out.
    And here are my girls.

Im partial to the Labs

Daniel

Default Better for what

Both breeds bring a lot to the table. They are very different though in many ways. What is your general outlook on life? What do you expect from a dog? How much time to you have to commit? What are your goals w/regards to the dog?
    If I were extremely active, wanting to focus on upland birds, skijoring, long distance runs, etc. I might choose the GSP. Yes, GSP do everything well from bears to birds, but not typically in extreme cold.
    If I were a bit lazier, did not want to compete in ski joring or pulk racing, lived north of the AK range where it is colder longer, and wanted to hunt everything from hares to geese, I would go the lab.
    Need more protection? Good solid trainer already? Don't make too many mistakes? GSP. Our GSP was tough and mean to the whole world except us. She was also high maintenance.
    My labs bark and carry on, but are easy for strangers to be around. I think I bite harder than they do.
    We all really do need more info from you before we can help. Both are great choices though.

Default color is not important