Thread: Anyone have experience with ATEC boats?

Default Anyone have experience with ATEC boats?

I was just wondering if anyone has any experience with ATEC boats or seen them out on the water. I've seen a few used ones but haven't heard much about them.

Soldotna, ALASKA since '78

Thumbs down No good

I've had some experience with ATEC and have known the owner for many years. He is not a very good structural engineer and uses substandard welders (often kids who have nothing more than high school shop class education) to put his stuff together. For the most part, his boats are at the bottom end of the custom build scale. He tries to cover up the poor construction by focusing on smooth sanding and fancy paint of the exteriors.

My most recent encounter with one of his boats was a guy who bought a boat from him and ended up taking it directly to another custom boat builder to redo a significant portion of the interior work that didn't meet his approval - after ATEC refused to fix it. He ended up spending more than the other custom builder would have charged him for a completely custom built boat.

I would classify ATEC as one of the local outfits who is in it just to make as much money as they can without regard for the end user. Personally, I would never buy anything made by ATEC.

Thumbs up Love my ATEC

I love my ATEC boat. It is awesome!

I've been out on an Atec charter several times. It is a very nice high quality boat. Seems to ride through the water very well even in 6' seas. I didn't give it a careful inspection so the welds might be bad, but I was impressed.

Thumbs up Atec = A+

JOAT, the owner of ATEC (Steve) started out building commercial fishing boats with his dad (Rebo) about 30 years ago. Landing craft are his specialty, but he'll build just about anything an owner wants. Obviously he knows how to engineer and build a boat for Alaska.