Thread: Seeking advice on guides / charter for 1st

Default Seeking advice on guides / charter for 1st

I am a collage student that has a friend in Alaska who said "come up for a week". So I am staying with him in Ank for a week.

So because I don't have a lot of money I was wondering if there was a guide or charter that was the best value for Halibut one day and the Salmon the next day (doesn't have to be the same charter). He said I could borrow a car, but I don't know if it is ok to drive to Homer or Seward just for a day fish trip?

Also is there a way to send some of the fish back to folks in lower 48?

Thanks again for your advice!

EDIT: I will be there July 29th through the 3rd of Aug.

Why don't you just do a combo for salmon and halibut and spend the next day taking care of your fish and see more of Alaska? Just a thought.

Default seward

My opinion, best bet for the limited time would be Seward, silvers are usually in, can usually get some nice halibut and even some rockfish (which are delicious) and its pretty out there, although the weather can be a little "sketchy" sometimes. Check with the chamber of commerce there, Im not sure of who is out there right now for good deals. But everytime I have gone its been a blast!
    Good luck!
    <*)))><

Quote Originally Posted by AkHunter45
    Why don't you just do a combo for salmon and halibut and spend the next day taking care of your fish and see more of Alaska? Just a thought.
    I thought I could space the trip out and get a better chance at getting salmon and halibut to send back... Maybe I am wrong in thinking that trying to catch too much in one trip out will lessen my chances of getting good fish to send back?

I have 4-5 days there... I could spend 1 day fishing half a day taking care of the fish etc, 1/2 day see more Alaska. Rinse and repeat?

I was planning on going to Seaward to take a sight seening boat to watch the glaciers "cavas" (is that the right spelling?).