Thread: Garmin Rinos???

MNTS_R_MY_PLYGRND

Default Garmin Rinos???

Looking at these just have a few question. If you have a Garmin Rino can you see where all other garmin rino users are in relation and ones that you don't want to know where say your treestand is at or do you have to program the rinos to talk to eachother to be abale to see where they are at?

You can turn the locating feature on or off. Also they only transmit their location when the mic is keyed. And we all know using a radio for hunting is a no no. So if you are just using the gps function you will remain hidden. I've been using a couple 120's for about 7 years now. Rarely use the radio as it eats batteries faster. Actually worn the rubber off the buttons on the one I use the most. Would that be warranty?

I also use a 120 and am looking into the 530HCX. Does anyone have any use on it...good or bad? The 120 is a good GPS in my eyes I just can not get it to interface with my computer for the mapping software I have.

What type of software are you using? I've always been able to get my 120 working with a variety of software programs. I have a 530 and a Fortrex which are a bit on the tricky side to get to interface sometimes, depending on the software.

On another note; my wife uses a Forerunner which came with some interesting software that tracks all sort of stuff.

I am using the Nat. Geo. TOPO program and the box says that it should work...I am have problems with it when it ask's what comm port to select and I have called Garmin about it and they dont really know. My buddy had a 60csx and that all worked fine when I dumped his info into the computer. What are the issues with the 530's that make it tricky?

I use the same topo program with my 120's without a hitch. Let us know about your computer and what the error message is and one of us might be able to figure it out. I have used this topo program for a few years now.

Default 120 Rino