Thread: Scope for 460 Weatherby

Default Scope for 460 Weatherby

I have just purchased a new 460 weatherby mark V and was trying to figure out which scope is the best for my application. I typically hunt from from a stand with a rest. Most shots are 100 to 150 yards. The range of shots never excedes 250 yards. I was thinking about a leupold Vari XIII 2.5 x 8. With this rifle I am concerned about getting maximum eye relief. Any suggestions?

Burris 1x Scout in the forward position. At those ranges all you need is a crosshair to tell you where to put the bullet. You don't need a variable.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Default Scope

Leupold 1-4, 1.5-5

I suggest a rubber scope.

The only 460 I ever fired recoiled so hard it slammed my face against the action.

Default Huh?

Quote Originally Posted by seant View Post
    I have just purchased a new 460 weatherby mark V and was trying to figure out which scope is the best for my application. I typically hunt from from a stand with a rest. Most shots are 100 to 150 yards. The range of shots never excedes 250 yards. I was thinking about a leupold Vari XIII 2.5 x 8. With this rifle I am concerned about getting maximum eye relief. Any suggestions?
    Not trying to be a smart *****, but what are you hunting from a stand from 100-150 yards that would warrent a 460 weatherby?
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

Default ??????

Kinda' wondering the same thing!