Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ????cook Inlet, Up Near Anchorage. ?????

Default ????cook Inlet, Up Near Anchorage. ?????

OK, I have been talking fishing with some guys at my job. I have just moved to the area and am looking to buy a 19 ft north river boat to fish in the surrounding area of anchorage, both the cook inlet and the rivers. While talking with these guys at work, they said that there are no fish in cook inlet up near anchorage. that I would have to travel all the way down to K. River, Homer, Whitier, and the POW. They said that the water was too nasty for fish and that the inlet did not hold any year round fish. That the Inlet was all mud flats everywhere. well I see mud, but is there no where to fish?

Now, I am new to these waters, fish species, and huge tides, but are you kidding? all of that great big inlet and no fish! I hope that they were kidding me. I know that I'm not going to be fishing out in the winter, but will I really have to travel so far to catch fish come spring?

Does anyone fish in cook inlet near anchorage, and is this info a bunch of crap? I would like to get one trip in this weekend or next. I was going to buy a boat down in WA this late winter.

Unfortunately, your co-workers are correct. I don't know if it is entirely true that there are no year-round fish - perhaps there are sandlance or something of the sort - but there is certainly no fishery for halibut or any other bottomfish around Anchorage. You may here the odd story here or there about someone trying, but....a very longshot at best. As far as the Peninsula is concerned, most would say that you need to go farther than Kenai - Ninilchik is generally considered the closest place in Cook Inlet to get into halibut. Whittier and Seward are beautiful areas, but they're very deep near port and not nearly as reliable at producing #'s of halibut as Ninilchik, Anchor Point, and Homer.

A boat will serve you well on area rivers, but not in the local salt.

Thanks Brian,