Thread: Technique for Grayling on the flyrod ???

Default Technique for Grayling on the flyrod ???

I will be heading from Nome out to Council to fish the Niukluk River this week. I have a bunch of dry flies ( humpies, royal wolff, mosquitoe, black nat, etc..) but have no experience with catching Grayling. This is supposed to be a fabulous river for Grayling and I wanted to ask how to fish for them. I am relatively new to fly fishing, so any help would be appreciated. I have a 4 wt and 6 wt system and plenty of patience. Just no experience.

I wouldn't even take the 6 wt for grayling, the 4 will handle them just fine. I like to stalk them along them river, kind of like sight fishing for brook trout. Don't let them see you along the bank and fish the deep holes and swift water. If you look hard enough and if they are in there you will see a white spot on their tail but you gotta be watching close. I think all the flies you mentioned will work just fine along with a few beadheads, toss them out and jerk your line in with your hand but make sure the flies are small, grayling have small mouths and are very delicate but voracious feeders, you will enjoy fishing for them. Good luck!

Grayling on dry flies is an awesome pursuit, but I find that sometimes I have to tie on a split shot or a sink tip line in the really deep holes. A month ago I was fishing the Tanalian River in Port Alsworth and had to use a weight to get down to the grayling. I was tossing dry flies with no action for 30 minutes, but when I put on a split shot I got 4 hits in 5 casts. Although grayling are notorious for not being picky, it still pays to be adaptable. Good luck, and post some pics on your return!

-Brian

Default a "dropper"