Thread: How important is a boat/ATV?

Default How important is a boat/ATV?

Ok, I am new to living in Alaska and really love my duck hunting. As of now, I do not have boat or a four wheeler. I live in Homer and am getting discouraged that people that do duck hunt take their boat or 4 wheeler to get to the duck. How important do you think it is to have one of those toys to get birds to hunt locally in this area. I'm not so much into the jumpshooting as I am into putting out a spread of goose and duck decoys and do some calling (I'm told that I can blow a call pretty well.) I'm not looking for any hotspots, just a little more on if I need to look a little bit harder for a relatively shallow pond that I can wade into to get a bird and set up decoys. Perhaps I have to drive a little past Soldotna and go for those ponds or I might have to make a trip up to Potter's Marsh, which would be kinda far for a day hunt. (but then again I work 2 weeks on and 2 weeks off however would like to find something closer, it would remind me too much of Kalifornia if I had to drive 200 miles to hunt ducks.)
    If anyone in my neck of the woods wants to go, PM me, I have a layout blind, 3 dozen goose decoys (24 shells and 12 floaters) along with 3 dozen duck dekes (1 doz. mallard, 1 doz. widgeon, and 1 doz. pinners.) I'm willing to throw in on fuel and my company . I also know how to be still and use cover. Thanks, ya'll.

Don't know anything about Homer and its local areas. The one thing you have noticed since leaving Cali is that we don't have a lot of roads up here and where there are side roads people are living there. Alaska's side roads for the last several thousand years have been its rivers and streams. In many places they still are the only "roads", even with the ATV being normal now.