Thread: Dog Gums

Default Dog Gums

Anyone have any information on being able to tell your dogs health by their gum color. My Labs gums went pretty grayish around lunch today and his tongue also got a very dark red. His behavior got kinda sluggish and he wasnt that active like he always is. I left him home after lunch and decided to take him bird hunting for a few hours when I got home. He did wonderful in the bush and got some pinkish color back into his gums and tongue but is still kinda lazy around the house. He is only 8 1/2 months old and am also wondering could it be a change that he could be going through. He didnt eat anything out of the normal that he usually does but kinda concerned. I talked to the vet on my way home and the helper at the desk had no clue about gum color or what may wrong if anything. Its my first time owning a great dog like this and you all know how attched you get to them especially if you dont have any kids. Every little thing concerns you. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Bowtech,

If you are noticing a change in behavior, sluggish etc....Then I'd get him to the vet ASAP. If you have the ability to take his temp (just a simple digital therm) please do so, here is a link

http://www.petplace.com/dogs/how-to-...ure/page1.aspx

Im sorry but if my dogs were not feeling well, the last place I'd be is the internet. Our last run in with a dog that wasnt feeling well ended up being anti-freeze poisoning..Im not saying thats what is going on with your dog but its better to be safe then sorry.

Here are my thoughts......but
    THIS DOES NOT REPLACE A VISIT TO YOUR VET.

You might check to see that his new teeth are coming in healthy. A tooth or gum infection can bring on the colors you mentioned.

Has your dog been getting enough water intake? Dehydration?
    Bouts of diarrhea? That too will dehydrate.
    Check to make sure your dog has not recieved a "blow" "Tramau" to that area.