Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Push feed actions will feed upside down.

Default Push feed actions will feed upside down.

Last night I read in Craig Boddington’s book; American Hunting Rifles pg. 238 fifth paragraph where he tested whether or not push feed actions could in fact feed rifle cartridges in an upside down position.
    I have never tried this before, so I wanted to test it for myself; Each of the 4 rifles that I tested chambered and ejected rounds without any problems both in an upside down and sideways position.

Winchester Model 70 late-model Post 64
    Remington Model 700 BDL
    Sako Model 75
    Browning A Bolt

Good thing to know if I ever need to shoot upside or sideways. Now the real test would be doing some actual shooting in these positions. (Just for practice). Anyone try this before just out of curiousity or necessity ? Haven't tested the CRFs yet.

Yep, all three of my Weatherby Mark V's just did the same thing although don't know when I would ever shoot up side down but just in case I ended up that way it is sure good to know my 257, 300 and 416 Mark V's will feed and eject the entire magazine while up side down.
    A GUN WRITER NEEDS:
    THE MIND OF A SCHOLAR
    THE HEART OF A CHILD
    THE HIDE OF A RHINOCEROS

Thanks beartooth for adding the Weatherby Mark V, my 340 WM also fed cartridges perfectly too.

Default push feeds