Thread: The Alaska set

Default The Alaska set

What is the most diverse, multi-purpose single (or collection of) firearm(s) appropriate for the bulk of Alaska hunting? I've been fishing in SE for a few years, but I'm coming up this time to stay. In company is an 1895GS in 45-70, a blued Ruger 77 MII in .30-06 with a VX-I Leupold, and a 70s version blued Dan Wesson .357 revolver.
    Is this loadout suitable for the bulk of AK game, or do I need to supplement with something smaller, larger, faster, slower, etc? Also-with a blued barrel in the tongass, what extra precautions are worthwhile to keep rust at bay?

A 30-06 is a fine rifle for the majority of Alaskan game. If you're thinking seriously about pursuing coastal brown bears down there, you may want to consider something larger along the lines of a 338 or a 375, but overall the 30-06 is a fine Alaskan rifle. The only thing I would consider if I were you is trading in the 357 for a 44mag. A 44mag is a better choice for bear protection, and bears are quite common along the SE archipeligo.

Default Filling in the gaps

You'll want a .22 for ptarmigan and grouse.

And probably a 12 gauge for ducks and geese.

Then there's the .410 for halibut...

Ditto Mauser ... Your existing guns are fine for most of southeast, but you might want to add one or two to the collection.

If you plan on hunting the ABCs you might want to chamber up to a .300 WM at least.

And, the .22 mentioned above is an absolute!

What are the advantages of .300WM over the .30-06? Is the velocity that big a jump over a heavier load? Eventually I'll get my dyes and the like sent over from Downeast so I could bulk up some heavier 180g loads for the .30-06, unless I'm missing something in translation between the two cartridges.

A .22 is on my to-get-soon list. Probably the 10/22 with all it's quirky customizable features. Is $290 too much for a new 10/22 in synth/SS? Of course-if there's a used one out there all the better.