Thread: Dont Touch the Beads???

Default Dont Touch the Beads???

I recently read an article in "Fish Alaska" Magazine written by Greg Brush that stated that you shouldnt touch your kwick fish with your hands because the human scent will make the plug less effective.

Would this also be true using beads for trout? Has anyone tried this? and if so, did it make a difference?

Wink Hmmmm. . .

Take this for what it's worth 'cause I've no experience with baited king plugs, but it sounds like "hook-'n-bullet," "sport-writer" hooey to me.

How then do fly fishermen, using wet flies and nymphs or anglers using lures or even anglers using eggs for silvers ever catch a fish without leaving human scent on the fly or the lure or the eggs? Yet all catch lots of fish. . .

When I used to trap fox and coyote, I was careful about leaving human scent, but fish. . . ?

Are fish really that discerning? I doubt it. . .

Read some articles and books by Bob Toman. He has done a lot of "experiments" with different scents in king filled waters. I read a little in a recent article in STS magazine and found it pretty interesting. Fishermen in the Pacific NW are very particular on how they handle their plugs.
    Most of it is overkill (IMO) but little things are the difference on many days and on many fish.

I handle every bead I use - pretty much have to in order to peg it. I'd say it's bunch of poo, really, probably some experiment somebody tried and they caught fish when they would've caught fish regardless. I wouldn't worry about it myself.

Default interesting...

Quote Originally Posted by lv4bowfishin View Post
    I recently read an article in "Fish Alaska" Magazine written by Greg Brush that stated that you shouldnt touch your kwick fish with your hands because the human scent will make the plug less effective.

Would this also be true using beads for trout? Has anyone tried this? and if so, did it make a difference?