Thread: Value, or waste of money?

Default Value, or waste of money?

I've been researching square stern canoes for a couple of months. Tonight I was messing around on line and came across Pelican canoes. Their 16' square stern sells for around $660, has a cargo rating of 950lbs, and is rated for a 5hp outboard.

From just reading about them, they look comparable in construction to Old town's ss150 preditor , but about half the price of the Old town.

Anyone here ever fooled around with one of these?

I bought one last Spring. I put a 6hp Johnson (2 stroke) on it. I know 5 hp is the max, but those ratings are based mainly on engine weight. My 6hp is definitely not too much motor or weight at appx 45lbs. That was the smallest motor I could get with forward, neutral, and reverse...something to think about.

Without the motor it weighs 125lbs, not easily carried long distances but very stable in the water. I also bought one of those canoe carriers from Cabelas or Bass Pro Shops, just in case I need to carry it down a trail.

There are more expensive and better canoes out there, but it works for me. This is my first canoe, so I can't give you any comparisons. Hope this helps.

Default canoe worth

they all work just fine, if not it would not sell,
    it all depends on how much you want to shell out for your fun an what you want to do with it back pack it , do rivers, do ponds or long trips it is all you to you an how much you want to shell out good luck

PS no mater what eng you get make shure there is no sheer pin in it ,you want a slip cluch in the prop if your wallet can stand it

SID
    Last edited by Sid; 09-14-2007 at 11:04. Reason: to add a comment

Thanks for the input KWP, and Sid.

KWP, are the seats adjustable or are they molded in?