Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Short trip

Default Short trip

I just got back from a trip in mine (I'm new to jet boating) and was dissapointed to find I only got about 1.6MPG!! We were very loaded and much of the trip was upriver but I had to cut it short because of the fuel consumption. What kind of fuel do you all burn that have Jet boats?

Default 20ft Wooldridge Sport - 150 HP 2 stroke OB jet

After carefully analyzing 6 trips: Hidden Lake, Skilak Lake, Kenai Lake, Resurrection Bay, Whittier, & 20-mile river..................2 mpg average.
    I bought and installed a fuel meter to help optimize mileage & prevent running out of fuel. The future of pleasure boating could very well be numbered if you consider that gas could easilly become $4.00 to $5.00 a gallon. Trips are either infrequent or you got to find some paying riders...........I think a general rule of thumb is 1.0 gallons/hour for every 10 HP of motor head.

What size boat, what engine, what jet unit do you have? New or used? What rpm's were you running at cruise? max rpm's?

Your fuel consumption seems a bit high to say the least.

Cool GAS

Typical measure of consumption in a boat is Gallon Per Hour (GPH). You can more accurately optimize your motor using this measure. If you are running upstream in a 20mph current doing 30mph ground speed, your effective speed is ~ 10mph. Obviously your mpg will be greatly reduced as opposed to running the same current downstream.
    So you can see where GPH would be a better measure.

Welcome to the world of jet boating! With a heavily loaded boat your mileage does not sound unreasonable.

The gallons per hour is frequently referred to but is BS - without the speed traveled it does not matter how may gallons per hour you are burning - The only measure that matters at the end of the day is miles per gallon.

The miles you can travel matters much more than the hours the motor will run.

Default mph / gph = mpg