Thread: flying with broadheads

Default flying with broadheads

I was curious what laws apply when flying with broadheads. Do i need to have them seperate from the arrows and bows or can they be on the arrow in the same case as my bow. this is probably common knowledge but it's my first time to fly cross country on a bow hunt.

I would assume that they can be in the same case as the bow. They're not explosive, so it would seem silly to require that they be in a seperate case. I could be wrong, but that seems like the logical answer...of course, government regulation and logic are sometimes not connected!

-Brian

Default Flying

I wouldn't take a chance I would just remove the Broad heads and put them in my carry on bag and not worry.
    DR B

Default not in carry on!

You don't want to put them in your carry on, that would fall in the same category as a knife. I'm about to head back home to New Mexico for elk and I'm just going to put them in a separate box in one of my other checked bags. i have friends that have just left them on the arrows with the bow and had no problems. Your checking the case anyways and it has to be locked so it shouldn't matter. I just don't want to chance it. It only takes a couple seconds to take them off and put them back on.

Thumbs up broadheads

From what I know, it's not a problem. My cousin flew up in May for a bear hunt and he had his arrows all set up and ready to hunt inside of his bowcase. TSA at SEA/TAC checked his equipment and didn't say anything before he came up. When I dropped him off here, they didn't say anything either. TSA opened the case and swabbed it for explosives, asked how the hunt went and closed the case. This experience sounds pretty common from the guys who went through it or have witnessed it myself. Hope it helps...

Default just like a knife...